As one of the leading medical cannabis dispensaries in the state of Maryland, we get a lot of questions from current and potential patients about the ins and outs of medical cannabis in the state. While this list is by no means exhaustive, here are some of the most common questions we’re asked. As of November 2021, the information in this article is accurate, but for the most recent laws and regulations, please visit the official site of the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC).
Is cannabis legal in Maryland?
Yes and no. Currently, cannabis is legal in Maryland for medical use only. Although possession of 10 grams or less is decriminalized, recreational cannabis is still considered illegal in the state. Only patients with a qualifying medical condition will be approved for a medical cannabis card by the MMCC.
What conditions are accepted by the MMCC?
Per the MMCC website, the following are qualifying medical conditions: “cachexia, anorexia, wasting syndrome, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, glaucoma, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), or another chronic medical condition which is severe and for which other treatments have been ineffective. ”If you suffer from any of the above, you can legally register as a medical cannabis patient in the state of Maryland.
How do I register as a patient?
Before you can visit a registered provider for a written certification, you’ll need to first register as a patient with the MMCC. To do this, you’ll need a valid email account, the last four digits of your social security number, an electronic copy of a valid government-issued photo ID, and proof that you live in Maryland (utility bill, lease agreement, etc.) Once registered, you’ll need to visit an MMC-approved physician for a written certification.
Can any doctor provide written certification?
No, only medical professionals licensed with the MMCC can issue this certification. There are plenty of online sources (like this one) that can help connect you with a registered provider. Please do your research and make sure that the doctor you’re going to is qualified to issue medical cannabis certifications in the state and that you and your doctor have a bona fide provider-patient relationship. Please note that there are variable fees associated with this doctor’s visit.
How long will it take to get a certification?
After your provider has examined you and your records, they may issue you a certification immediately. At this point, you’ll need to log into your account through the MMCC website to order an ID card. A patient may only order an ID card after their application has been approved and they’ve received certification from a registered provider.
How much does a medical card cost?
Patients must pay $50 at the time of registration for an ID card. If a patient loses or damages their ID card, they must log in to their MMCC account and report it. The cost of a replacement card is $100. Here’s more information on how to get your medical card.
Do I need to bring my medical card every time I go to a dispensary?
Yes, it’s preferred that all patients bring their MMCC card and a valid, state-issued form of identification every time they visit a dispensary.
I have a medical card from another state. Can I use it in Maryland?
No. The Maryland medical cannabis program is made available only to Maryland residents. Maryland does not allow medical card reciprocity.
Are Maryland medical cannabis patients protected against federal prosecution?
No. Cannabis is still illegal, even medically, on a federal level. Therefore, medical cannabis patients in Maryland and in other states are not protected against federal prosecution.
Is medical cannabis covered by Medicaid or other health plans?
No. Medical cannabis is not covered by Medicaid or insurance.
Can I bring a friend or spouse with me to CULTA’s dispensary?
As a Maryland patient, you are only allowed to bring other registered medical patients and/or your registered caregiver with you to any cannabis dispensary in the state, including CULTA. A caregiver is someone who can pick up medical cannabis from a dispensary on your behalf. Each patient can have up to two caregivers, and minors are required by law to have a registered caregiver.
Can patients cultivate their own medical cannabis?
No. Current Maryland law does not allow medical cannabis patients to cultivate their own cannabis.
How much cannabis can I possess at one time?
Typical certifications state that patients can purchase a certain number of grams of cannabis during a rolling 30-day period. 120 grams is the current default max, unless a physician determines a patient needs more. In extract form, patients are allowed to obtain up to 36 grams of THC per month. The certification issued by a provider identifies the amount of dried flower and THC a patient may purchase in a 30-day period.
Can an employer drug test me if I’m a medical cannabis patient?
Yes. Maryland law does not prohibit an employer from drug testing or taking action against an employee who tests positive for cannabis, regardless of their medical cannabis patient designation.
Where can I get medical cannabis?
Registered and qualified patients with a valid MMCC card can purchase medical cannabis from any dispensary that’s licensed to operate in the state of Maryland, like CULTA. Here is a full list of Maryland licensed dispensaries.
As mentioned, this list is not exhaustive and does not cover everything our patients ask us about. If you have a question that wasn’t answered here, please visit our dispensary or the MMCC Patient FAQ page for answers to other commonly asked questions.